SafeKids Coalition says that Virginia has a new car seat law which promises better safety for children in car seats. Children riding in cars in Virginia must now sit rear-facing in their car seats until they reach the age of 2 years or the maximum weight and height limit called for by the car seat’s manufacturer. Children in a car seat must ride in the back seat (unless the vehicle does not have a rear seat). The Law will be effective July 1, 2019, and is based on recommendations by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
All children in any type of car seat must ride in the vehicle’s rear seat. Children younger than 8 years old must ride in a car seat or booster seat. Children ages 8 – 17 must wear an adult seat belt.
SafeKids has created The Ultimate Car Seat Guide to help parents, family members, caregivers and guardians learn more about car seat safety. This helpful Guide can be accessed at this website: https://www.safekids.org/ultimate-car-seat-guide/
Parents, family members and caregivers in Virginia can check with their area’s SafeKids Coalition to learn where they can get inspection of their children’s car seat by a certified car seat inspector! Parents can even register their children’s car seats and watch important safety videos on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s website: https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats#install-inspection.